Coming in June 2018 from Torrey House Press:

Yosemite Fall

Book four in the National Park Mystery Series



Yellowstone Standoff, now available for order


Mountain Rampage, now available for order


Canyon Sacrifice, now available for order

Scott Graham is the author of the acclaimed National Park Mystery Series, featuring archaeologist Chuck Bender. The series is published by Torrey House Press.

In addition to the National Park Mystery Series, Graham is the author of five nonfiction books, including Extreme Kids, winner of the National Outdoor Book Award.

Graham is an avid outdoorsman and amateur archaeologist who enjoys backpacking, hunting, rock climbing, skiing, and mountaineering. He lives with his wife, an emergency physician, in Durango, Colorado. He has made a living as a newspaper reporter, magazine editor, radio disk jockey, and coal-shoveling fireman on the steam-powered Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.


Yellowstone Standoff, book three in the National Park Mystery Series, released in 2016, is set deep in the forbidding backcountry of Yellowstone National Park, where archaeologist Chuck Bender has brought his wife and two young stepdaughters on a week-long archaeological survey. When Yellowstone’s iconic grizzly bears and gray wolves inexplicably go rogue, Chuck teams with his old friend, ranger Lex Hancock, to protect the suspect members of a group scientific expedition. Yellowstone Standoff received high praise from bestselling authors.

  • Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Longmire Mystery Series, basis of the hit Netflix series, says, "One part mystery, one part mysticism, and one part mayhem— Yellowstone Standoff is all parts thrilling.”

  • Win Blevins, two-time Spur Award winning author of The Darkness Rolling, says, "“What an extraordinary ride! You know when a reader says they couldn’t put the book down?Yellowstone Standoff is one of those rare books. A tour de force.”


Mountain Rampage,the second book in the National Park Mystery Series, released in 2015, is set in Rocky Mountain National Park. Chuck Bender is running an archaeology field school for college students in the park when the summer takes a deadly turn, and Chuck finds himself and his students in the crosshairs of an unknown murderer. Mountain Rampage received great reviews from top authors.

  • 2014 Spur Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman says, "Filled with murder and mayhem, jealousy and good detective work — set against a stunning Colorado backdrop — Mountain Rampage is an exciting, nonstop read. Well done! I look forward to more good tales from this talented author."

  • New York Times bestselling author Michael McGarrity says, “In Mountain Rampage, Scott Graham delivers taut writing, solid plot twists, a cast of interesting characters, and an appealing protagonist both men and women will love. Get ready for a leave-you-breathless, high-country southwestern adventure.

  • Chuck Greaves, award-winning author of the Jack McTaggart Mystery Series, says, “Move over Nevada Barr — clean prose and confident storytelling combine to make Scott Graham’s second Chuck Bender/National Park Mystery Series novel a must-read for fans of Western outdoor fiction and for mystery lovers everywhere.


Canyon Sacrifice, the first book in the National Park Mystery Series, is set in Grand Canyon National Park. When his new stepdaughter is kidnapped during a visit to the Grand Canyon, Chuck Bender faces up to his secret past and his unfamiliar family-man role as he confronts every parent’s worst nightmare—that of a missing child. Canyon Sacrifice was released in June 2014 to high praise from New York Times bestselling authors C.J. Box, Margaret Coel, and William Kent Krueger.

  • C.J. Box calls Sacrificea terrific debut novel.

  • Margaret Coel deems it “one of the most engaging mysteries I’ve read in a long while.

  • William Kent Krueger finds it “engrossing . . . a glorious portrait of one of the most compelling landscapes on earth.

Reviews of the National Park Mystery Series have been universally positive.

For Yellowstone Standoff:

  • Publishers Weekly
    “Graham’s intriguing third National Park mystery [deals] with such phenomena as global warming, an increase in the number of small tremors, and an odd pairing of a wolf and a grizzly. The threatening behavior of the park’s predators is worrisome enough, and then the discovery of a murdered researcher lifts threats to a whole new level. Graham does a fine job detailing the various and competing demands made on National Parks by the public, scientists, and bureaucrats.”

For Mountain Rampage:

  • Kirkus Reviews
    “Graham’s clever tale is tailor-made for those who prefer their mysteries under blue skies.”

For Canyon Sacrifice:

  • Library Journal
    "This riveting series debut showcases Graham's love of nature and archaeology, simultaneously interjecting some serious excitement. Graham is to be commended for weaving together several cultures into one story. Recommended to readers who enjoy Tony Hillerman, Nevada Barr, and C.J. Box's Joe Pickett series."

  • Albuquerque Journal
    "A gripping tale of kidnapping and murder . . . in a style similar to mysteries by Tony Hillerman."

For each release in the National Park Mystery Series, Graham has toured and appeared at bookstores and literary festivals throughout the West. Signings have included these terrific independent bookstores:

  • Maria's Bookshop, Durango, CO
  • Bookbar, Denver, CO
  • Macdonald Bookshop, Estes Park, CO
  • Bookworks, Albuquerque, NM
  • The King's English Bookshop, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Back of Beyond Books, Moab, UT

For more information or to discuss an appearance, please email